top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

The Karate Kid (1984)

Daniel moves to Southern California with his mother, Lucille but quickly finds himself the target of a group of bullies who study karate at the Cobra Kai dojo. Fortunately, Daniel befriends Mr. Miyagi an unassuming repairman who just happens to be a martial arts master himself. Miyagi takes Daniel under his wing, training him in a more compassionate form of karate and preparing him to compete against the brutal Cobra Kai.

On December 29, 2020, we rewatched The Karate Kid (1984) because with the upcoming Cobra Kai: Season 3 we wanted to rewatch Karate Kid because as a teenager I would always would watch it and remember putting the DVD into the DVD Player but in November 2020 I ransacked every place I could think looking for The Karate Kid (1984) DVD but I came up empty-handed, which made me pissed cause I remember having it so I went to Plan B put the movie at my library along with The Karate Kid Part II, The Karate Kid Part III and in December 2020 I got a notification that The Karate Kid, The Karate Kid Part II, was ready to pick up my library so me and my mom went to pick it up at my library so me and my mom went to pick it up at my library but we forgot to watch it but then I went to my dads for 1 week and 12 days and the first three days we to a cabin in the snow in Leavenworth and I loved that cabin it had classic board games and VHS tapes which for a geek is a dream come true and that's where I got the book “Ready Player Two.” On Christmas, I got Jumanji (the board game), The Last of Us Part II, Doom (2016), Doom: Eternal, Drumsticks, a Ramones t-shirt, drum sticks, the office cereal w/ funko pop Dwight with a dummy mask. But the first thing I did was I played Last of Us Part II, and so far I was enjoying it until they had to kill Joel my reaction was full of rage and sadness same with my dad he was a fan of The Last of Us and my little sister was angry too because of Joel's death and we all remember when I first bought The Last of Us. We were at the store when I saw the game “The Last of Us” I heard it was an excellent game so my dad decided to search for review on The Last of Us and the reviews were mostly 5 stars so that's when I knew I chose an excellent game so when I got home I started playing it and it was fucking awesome I loved the story and as I played my dad and sister got hooked on this game and usually my dad and little sister are not interested in video games so that’s saying something, and they also loved the development of the relationship between Ellie and Joel and when I watched the development of their relationship I thought of it as Joel as the T-800 because they both are father figures and in Terminator 2 we watch as the T-800 slowly become a father figure to John Connor and I loved the ending but when I finished playing my little sister said “I want to play The Last of Us now” which made my eyes go wide because I thought I would never hear those words from her mouth because my little sister had never played a shooting, zombie game in her life and so I knew this chance would never come again so, I said “sure” she played the full game two times in a row the first was whenever there was a fighting scene she would hand over the PS4 controller to me so I would have to fight them and the second time my sister made sure to shoot everyone without handing the controller over to me only if it was a bloater and after she finished The Last of Us me and my sister were very excited for The Last of Us Part 2 until I played it. When I got back to mom's house and the next day I got a couple of gifts, and my mother knows I loved Cobra Kai so she got me a Bonsai tree and a Bonsai tool kit to trim it and a Cobra Kai t-shirt but I first focused on my bonsai tree and just like Daniel I was a beginner at trimming bonsai so I remember what Mr. Miyagi said to Daniel

"Concentrate, think only tree make a perfect picture down to the last pine needle wipe your mind clean everything but the tree nothing exists in all the whole world... only tree"

I did just that and it helps me but what didn't help was listening to The Karate Kid that background noise distracted but while I was cutting I didn't pay attention to the movie I didn't miss anything important I knew it by heart and focused on the bonsai when I was done, I sat down and watched "The Karate Kid" and remember I said "I knew it by heart" well this movie just punched me in the groin because there are two scenes I never remember seeing as a kid I never knew these scenes existed where when Mr. Miyagi gets drunk, the scene where Daniel crashes the dance between Jonny and Ali Mils dance together, the scene where Daniel taunts Johnny by hanging around her and Daniel tells the teacher they need extra help that's when I chuckled a bit. But this is where the line ends for this movie because this is all I could think of for this film review.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page