top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

The Artist

An egomaniacal film star develops a relationship with a young dancer against the backdrop of Hollywood's silent era.

On February 16, 2022 - February 23, 2022, I watched The Artist and holy shit this film was beautiful and I loved this film because it was made in the modern day and was a tribute to the silent film era. It all started when I joined a class that focuses on the History of Silent Films and it's only on Wednesdays. Being in that classroom to me felt like a real-life movie theater even if we only sat on steel stools but from the live reaction to the big screen that to me is a movie theater and fuck the seats whether they are comfortable or not because sometimes when you watch a film you get so immersed in it you forget where you are sitting and as we watched "The Artist" I heard the class had emotions of surprise, joy, shock, and I wasn't born during the Silent Era so this film was a treat for me giving me a look at what life was like during those times. So this movie is focused on a famous actor and what his daily life was like which was awesome to see how he went with his life and then sound comes into film and his life just goes downhill from there and to see how it affected people like him in the real world during The Silent Film Era is just amazing. Before I go I have a question? So Bérénice Bejo who plays Peppy Miller in this film and I was wondering is it me or does she look like Ripley from Alien. The end is just beautiful and at the end you can hear the class clap in applause and I joined in the applause. Fun Fact: my project for the end of this class is to make a silent film of my own and I might review that but as I film reviewer I promised myself if I was in a film and review that film I would never say "it was good because I was in it." I recommend this film for people like me people who where not around during the Silent FiIm Era and people who just love Silent Films and enjoy watching them this will be a treat for you.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page