top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Ready Player One (4th Year Anniversary)

When the creator of a virtual reality called the OASIS dies, he makes a posthumous challenge to all OASIS users to find his Easter Egg, which will give the finder his fortune and control of his world.

On March 29, 2018, Ready Player One was one of the most disappointing films I ever watched because it goes against the book it's trying to adapt into and in a way Steven Spielberg threw the book out the window and said let's use the same characters, story, but change it up that’s how I would describe this movie and I have been running away from writing this review because I was afraid I would let my anger out which ends up happening in this review so be warned. I mean I was dedicated to this film when it was announced and I mean no joke in 8th grade I created a countdown sheet with a signup sheet for the movie and hung it up in my main class and each day I wrote the days until it was released I mean I was dedicated to this film before it was released and destroyed everything and I learned why people say "never get your hopes up" and I have a picture of me and my dad at the theater and I'm excited for the movie but I'm like, how do you say "calm before the storm?" I would give this movie a 2/10 because even though this film was a disaster I will say Ready Player One is well cast and I mean they did they nailed their role perfectly and the final battle was awesome and I love the character design for IOI and the setting always makes me feel like they brought the book to life but how they deactivated the barrier in the book is way better than the movie version so these are my only pros. My con was this entire film because the key components of the book like The Gates, How They Got The Keys, The Escape, and my favorite things about this book that introduced me to Geek Culture like music, films, video games, movies, like for example Joust (my favorite arcade game was introduced to me in this book) and this movie introduced me to all of those and Steven Spielberg removed it or changed it in the film. Both me and my dad were disappointed they didn't use any Rush music because Rush played a big part in Ready Player One the book and the reason I started listening to the "2112" album is because of this book and instead they decided to just show are posters and shirts which is disappointing. This film was the biggest disappointment for me because I was a fan of the book and loved the story but when I saw the movie I was filled with rage and I loved the book I would reread it multiple times I think the number was 5 but then to see the movie go against what it was trying to adapt was really disappointing and now I know how it feels when someone screws up an adaptation of a book I can now say “I feel your pain." When I watched “6 Days to Air: The Making of South Park” I now understand what Matt meant when he said “It was like a rape” when talking about “Indiana Jones: The Kingdom of The Crystal Skulls” I mean I feel the same way and I felt as if my eyes were violated and I mentioned this before and I will mention it again “The book is what made me a geek” I mean when Wade Watts tells the reader things from or about the 80’s I got invested into Geek Culture and I went down a deep rabbit hole of "Geek Culture" hoping to never come back out and while I was down there I was learning all about geek culture from music, movies, video games and I'm still down there to this day learning more and more. In my opinion the reviewers, critics, everyone, people who say "this movie was good" please shut the fuck up you know fucking nothing until you read the fucking book and the people that piss me off are the people that have read the book and think the movie was a great adaption of the book. By the end of this movie I lost all faith in Steven Spielberg every movie he has done after “Ready Player One” will be seen in my eyes as a failure because you aren't allowed to walk away. I recommend this to people who love watching films like Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief then you will love this movie and people who love Sci-Fi but if you're someone like me who loved the book and was impacted by the book then you will be disappointed.


*Fun Fact: 4 years ago and 1,461 days ago I watched this movie that has haunt my dreams*


*This was written by NinjaWolf on March, 18, 2022*


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page