top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Phantom of The Opera (1943)

An acid-scarred composer rises from the Paris sewers to boost his favorite opera understudy's career.

On October 20, 2021, I watched Phantom of the Opera and holy shit this movie was amazing and full of twists and turns and it brings a whole new perspective to the story of The Phantom of the Opera and even though sometimes you can't understand the music but in the end it's all worth it for the story. But before I start this review I would like to mention that when I watch classic movies (for example movies from the 1900s to '60s) like these I like to put myself in the seat of the audience going (which is going into these movies blind sometimes and sometimes it's really helpful). When first watching this I thought it was going to be a version of The Phantom of the Opera but boy was I wrong I learned as watching the movie I learned this was the backstory of the phantom why he got burned, why he loves Christine so much and cares about her, why he only tortures this one opera house all those questions get answered and it explains how the phantom of the opera gets up to the chandelier and he tries to down the cut down the chandelier using a saw and I'm like "I guess you haven't seen Saw oh wait Saw was released 39 years before your time" but somehow he manages to cut into the chain and I was confused and then the tension builds up as the police are catching up to the phantom of the opera as he is cutting the chain to the chandelier using the saw and the hairs on my leg were standing up and my leg was stiff as a board and most of the time when it was a signing parts I couldn't understand it because I mean I'm not really into Opera because it's not my cup of tea but The Phantom of the Opera is an exception and when I first saw The Phantom of the Opera for the first time when the song "The Phantom of the Opera" was playing I thought that they were traveling into a lair or a building underground but it just turned out to be the sewers and the ending of Phantom of the Opera is so sad I almost started crying because the ending of The Phantom of the Opera is always sad but this one is even sadder because now you know what he has been through and this just makes the ending even sadder. I recommend this to people who love The Phantom of the Opera or people who love opera and I also suggest The Phantom of the Opera for people who have no idea where to start with Opera movies.

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page