top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Hell or High Water

A divorced father and his ex-con older brother resort to a desperate scheme in order to save their family's ranch in West Texas

On August 7, 2021, I watched Hell or High Water and holy shit this films was awesome and this film captured Texas perfectly and I love the camera angles showing of Texas and this movie made me tense as fuck and I loved Chris Pines and Jeff Bridges characters and the development of their partners and the brothers seeing how much they care about each other and how much they are willing to sacrifice. I remember the first time I went to Texas for a family reunion in 2018, and I remember my first reaction was “who are all of you people” because I haven’t seen any of these people since the last family reunion when I was just a kid and as a kid I thought my dad and his family lived in the desert because when he said “cactus“ I immediately thought desert because as a kid I thought that cactus only grew in the desert. At first I wondered why are they robbing banks but all will be explained with time. I love Jeff Bridges sense of humor in this film. As Chris pine goes into a gas station and them some assholes in a green car pull in and the brother for no reason looks over at them and the driver is pissed off and he thinks he so cool pulling out a gun and I’m like “If that was me I would ask “have you ever killed anyone before” and if they say “no” then they have no idea what it’s like to kill someone” and I have no idea what’s like to kill someone I took this from my dad and if you ever watched any movies where someone kills someone for the first time like in “James Bond“ they show what it’s like curled up in a ball wondering “why” anyways back to the scene when the driver gets out Chris Pine comes out of nowhere and beats his ass and leaves. I loved when Jeff Bridges said “Yeah. But I ain’t stupid. God doesn't talk through this man any more than he talks through his dog.” and I say “Amen to that Jeff Bridges” because I agree with that and Alberto Parker has some advice “A long time ago, your ancestors was the Indians… till someone came along and killed them, and broke ‘em down, made you into one of them. A hundred and fifty years ago… all of this was my ancestor’s land. Everything you could see. Everything you saw yesterday. Till the grandparents of these folk took it. And now, it’s been taken from them. Except it ain’t no army doing it. It’s those sons of bitches right there.“ and he points at the Bank and I’m like “No way” and my dad said “yes“ and explain how this is an actual thing. Back with the brothers and Tanner is sitting on the chair on the Poitou and my dad told me that brings back memories of when he was a kid. Oh and before I go let me tell you what I learned from this movie is “Fuck the Banks” because that's the main point made throughout this movie. I recommend Hell or High Water for people who either did or did not grow up in Texas because it doesn’t matter you don’t need to grow up in Texas only to watch this movie.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page