top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Cloverfield (2008)

Updated: Oct 28, 2021

A group of friends venture deep into the streets of New York on a rescue mission during a rampaging monster attack.

On October 26, 2020, I watched Cloverfield and it was fucking awesome and some scenes make me tensed up, some scenes that made me jump out of my seat. At first, I thought this event happened because it was provided by The U.S. Government and once the movie begins for real after that warning I didn't know what the fuck was going on because it is a normal day on April 27 nothing strange and we meet Rob Hawking and Elizabeth "Beth" McIntyre and then we cut to May 22 and I'm like "What the fuck just happened we went from April 27 to May 22" and we are introduced to Jason Hawking and Lily Ford and once we return to Rob's apartment we meet Hudson "Hud" Platt and I'm like "I recognize his voice from somewhere but where is it from" and then it clicked in my brain "oh yeah he plays Weasel in Deadpool" and he goes around getting testimonials, and I find out that Rob and Beth journey to Coney Island and that the tape that is currently being recorded is on the same tape that's why it's cutting back and forth and once I heard the *thud* *boom* I literally jumped up while laying down and you probably thinking that's impossible but I've done it before and it's like your body just pops up while laying down against my will at first I thought it was Hypnic Jerk but I learned its not because Hypnic Jerk only happens when you fall asleep and I was wide awake when watching Cloverfield back to my review so They go to the roof to investigate it and their is a explosion which made me jump a little cause it was unexpected and debris is coming straight so they go to the bottom floor of the apartment and we see another explosion but it was caused by the head of the Statue of Liberty and I’m like “Oh My God what in the actual fuck” and one second later a guy says “Oh My God" and after seeing a glimpse of the monster I was like "what in the actual fuck was that" and they take shelter in a corner store from the dust storm and we get a look at another clip from The trip to Coney Island while they are watching a clip of the monster and they make a decision to head to Brooklyn bridge and we saw the Statue of Liberty with the missing head and I love Hudson's quote.

"People are gonna wanna know how it all started" - Hudson

Rob gets held back from a phone call from Beth which leads to Jason waiting for Rob on a pole which leads to Jason's death because he was squashed under the monster's tail and Hub stands there frozen as the bridge is breaking but snaps out of it in the nick of time and Lily breaks down mourning the death of Jason while Rob goes to the electronic store in search for a Nokia charger to get in contact with his girlfriend Beth and Hudson watches TV and we get a look at the whole entire monster and it's huge and there are stuff coming off the monster there called Parasites and they attack I would be scared to and they try to get Rob to leave the store and I would be like Hudson trying to get the fuck out of dodge and Rob is heading to Midtown the same direction as the monsters in and people try to stop him and The monster is right in front of them and then a missile comes out of nowhere and we learn the military is right behind them shooting at the monster with missiles, guns and I was like “guns don't do shit against a monster that big you need nukes” and they get separate cause each of them are on one side and the military is in the middle so they make a run for a subway station and we get a good look at the monsters face and Rob’s mom calls I'm like “oh fuck” and breaks the news that Jason is dead and Jason and Beth mourn their loss and Rob found a way to get out is through the tunnels and this is my favorite scene where they are traveling the tunnels and Rob turns on the night vision on the camera and we see the parasites and they run as fast as they can but their being attacked by Parasites and Marlena gets bitten they make it through a door the reason I love this scene is cause it's so unique and Marlena got bitten good and Marlena dosen't look so good and the military caught me off guard so I jumped a little and they try to convince the military to save his girlfriend Beth and we get a close up of parasite and Marlena’s eyes are bleeding and they scream bite and her head exploded cause we see blood on the see-through curtains and a soldier are letting them go save their friend but also telling us the last helicopter is at 06:00 and also telling us that they are blowing up Manhattan and Beth’s helicopter is fucked up cause it's leaning on another tower and I love when Hudson says “maybe we can cross over from the other building” and they think it's an excellent idea and I would agree that's a bad idea and they find a over but it looks like it's impossible to cross but once they are on other side to me it look like they were on Steroids or drugged cause it's blurry and they are going from wall to wall trying to find their balance and zooming in and out and they finally find Beth but she has a pole right through her chest and I'm like “Oh fuck holy shit” and Beth wakes up and sees the pole in her chest and she is freaking out and the monster is coming straight for them and Beth wonders what the monster is as she is bandaged up and they run into another parasite who Rob kills with a ax and we get an excellent look at the monster and they made it to the helicopters and as they were bombing the monster I was standing up on my couch cheering with Hudson then the monster jump scares me and I landed on my but and the helicopter went down but somehow they are still alive but Rob is injured they help him up but Hudson gets eaten by the monster and we get a close up of what the monster looks like and I busted into tears because I loved Hudson as a friend and I found him hilarious and Rob and Beth take shelter under a bridge where they have there finally word and then they bomb Manhattan and they are dead.










15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page