top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Black Christmas (1974)

As winter break begins, a group of sorority sisters, including Jess and the often inebriated Barb, begin to receive anonymous, lascivious phone calls. Initially, Barb eggs the caller on, but stops when he responds threateningly. Soon, Barb's friend Claire goes missing from the sorority house, and a local adolescent girl is murdered, leading the girls to suspect a serial killer is on the loose. But no one realizes just how near the culprit is.

On December 8, 2020, I watched Black Christmas (1974) and holy shit was this movie terrifying it scared the daylights out of me and I waited until it was night and my mother went to work and I wanted to watch this movie to get into the Christmas spirit and people mentioned this movie a lot and of course what better way to watch this movie than Christmas Time. This movie obviously inspired "Halloween (1978)" and "Scream" just by watching this you can tell movies like "Halloween" and "Scream" were heavily inspired by this movie and I don't even need to explain why because once you watch the movie you will see for yourself because its so obvious. During this movie I was on the edge of my seat during this movie because it was so tense you had no idea who was going to be next on the chopping block and the kills were obviously inspired the kills in "Halloween (1978)" You never see the killer's face and usually you know what the killer looks like but he is covered in darkness as Deepak Chopra once said "Most people talk about fear of the unknown, but if there is anything to fear, it is the known" and during this movie I was on the edge of my seat during this movie because it was so tense you had no idea who was going to be next on the chopping block and the kills were obviously inspired the kills in "Halloween (1978)" and I want this review to get noticed because this movie started everything without this movie we wouldn't know where we would be because both "Scream" and Halloween both changed horror history forever. After finishing this movie I watched video's talking facts about movie and it shocked me to learn that "Halloween" was inspired by this film and a fun fact about the film's original script about a brother who killed their little sister does that sound familiar? I remember later when I finally watched "Halloween (1978) and then I watched "The Movies That Made Us" hoping they would mention Black Christmas but they never mentioned it but its a shame they never mentioned how Black Christmas inspired "Halloween (1978)" and Bob Clack the director also did a movie called "A Christmas Story" and I couldn't believe it either how could a director who did a horror movie with gore like "Black Christmas" also direct a wholesome movie like "A Christmas Story" and if I had a section called "Hall of Directors" Bob Clark would be on the list for sure because he is an unappreciated director for his work on movies like "Black Christmas", "Deathdream", "A Christmas Story" so yeah Bob Clark is an unappreciated director that deserves attention. I recommend this for Horror fans and people who love movies like "Halloween" and "Scream" and of course new comers to the horror genre.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page