top of page
Writer's pictureNinjaWolf

Batman (1989)

Having witnessed his parents' brutal murder as a child, millionaire philanthropist Bruce Wayne fights crime in Gotham City disguised as Batman, a costumed hero who strikes fear into the hearts of villains. But when a deformed madman who calls himself "The Joker" seizes control of Gotham's criminal underworld, Batman must face his most ruthless nemesis ever while protecting both his identity and his love interest, reporter Vicki Vale.

On September 16, 2022, I finally watched Batman and holy fucking shit was this movie awesome and there were twists and turns I didn't expect and what I love about this movie that no other Batman movie so far has done is have the citizens of Gotham learn of the Batman because in other movies people already know who Batman is and the reason why I wanted to watch this movie was because I remember hearing that the director of new Batman movie that came was inspired by this movie. Before I start this review I'd like to tell you a story when I was a kid I would always say "Draw Batman" my father drew The Flash, Superman you think that would have satisfied me well no I said to him "Draw Batman" and my family tells me this story a lot and even I find it funny sometimes. The opening music instantly gave me nostalgic vibes of playing Lego Batman on the Wii and I was like "holy shit this music from this movie" I thought it was an original song from Lego Batman and what shocked me is when my dad told me Danny Elfman composed it because that man is a fucking genius and my told me how before this movie was released Michael Keaton was a comedian and my Dad told me when it was announced people were mad it was going to be another comedy but this movie shocked everybody and I'm like "it's like I sense a theme of comedians becoming famous actor like Bruce Willis in Die Hard for example" and my dad said "that's a very good example" while looking at the opening credits I saw "A Tim Burton Film" and holy shit I was shocked and my dad paused it and told me before this movie he was a nobody and I was wondering why they hired a nobody and I also wondered if this where it all started and then my dad paused on the name "Billy Dee William" and he said "do you recognize that name" and I said "no" and he said "He played Lando in Star Wars" that shocked me then when the camera pulled back to reveal the bat symbol I was shocked because how they did that was so awesome. The beginning almost made me think because a family goes into and alley and well you will have to see it. When I heard the name Harvey Dent I immediately knew it was Two Face then I see Billy Dee Williams face and I immediately recognized his face and I was shocked and Knox reminds me of one of those hyper kids you see at school and we also meet Vicky Vale a photographer and she mentions "Corto Maltese" and I'm like "holy shit that place is from Suicide Squad and so that means these two worlds are connected" and my dad said "James Gunn is a huge nerd" and so I searched it up turns out it's a place from the Batman Comics. Then when I saw Michael Keaton I was shocked because he had hair and the only movie I have seen Michael Keaton in was Spiderman: Homecoming as the Vulture and in that movie he lost all his hair. Guys I have some advice keep a good eye on Jack I thought he wasn't an important character but I was wrong so make sure you keep an eye on him and me and my brother agreed that out of all the Commissioner Gordon's this is the worst Commisnior Gordon on film because he looks nothing like the comics. This version of the batmobile is so beautiful I always loved this car it was just so beautiful to look at and I remember every time I went to this Roller Skating Rink as a kid I would just go over to the Batman Arcade Driving Game it's a game where you can choose any version of the batmobile and go on missions and this version was always my go-to car. So midway through the movie my big brother had a discussion on "who is the best joker" and I agreed with my big brother on Mark Hamill and my dad said "who is the best actor who plays the joker" and

my big brother said "Heath Ledger" and I said "who is that" and my dad said "He is from the Dark Knight" and then it clicked in my head and then my brother paused to think and said "yeah and then I said "what makes this actor for the Joker so great" and my dad said "Jack Nicholson won multiple awards" and there were some really silly moments with the joker which others might cringe at but I found I little hilarious cause they seemed like something the joker would do. Near the end I just fell in with love Jack Nicholson as the Joker he doesn't even compare to Heath Ledger's Joker but holy fucking shit he is good but on my Joker list he is a #2 and after the movie was over Michael Keaton became my favorite Batman and he even beat Christopher Nolan's Batman out of my #1 spot of my favorite Batman's.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page